Hello, 2017!

2017 is officially here! Time for a quick reflection on 2016 and to set a few goals for 2017.

All things considered, 2016 was a good year. There were some major high points – personal bests, podiums, qualifying for two world championships – and super low points – self-doubt, low confidence, bonking/cramping/crying. This year, I learned a lot about myself. The most important thing I learned is that I can quiet the negative voice in my head. Simply managing all of my negative self talk has been a lifelong struggle, so having some success actually quieting these thoughts is a big deal for me. I’m going to need all the positive mental power I can get as I go into the 2017 season! The 2016 season showed me that I still have a lot of work to do. I am going to have to suffer A LOT to achieve the goals I have for 2017!

Speaking of goals…I have some big ones this year:

1. Drop 3 minutes off of my half ironman swim time.

2. Run a sub-1:30 stand alone half marathon.

3. Run a low 1:30s half marathon off the bike.

4. Finish in the top 5 at ITU Long Course World Championship

5. Finish in the top 5 at 70.3 World Championship

Also on deck for 2017 is a diet cleanup as well as a recommitment to strength, stretching, and social media! I certainly I have my work cut out for me, but I also have so much to look forward to. It’s time to get to work!! Happy New Year!

Leave a comment